Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Social Sensors for rapid damage assessment in disaster management - combining social media and earth observations

Social Sensors for rapid damage assessment in disaster management - combining social media and earth observations
contact:

Prof. Dr. Doris Dransch
Joachim Fohringer  

Project Description

Modern sensors or sensor networks provide values for the observation of natural phenomena, but only for in their respective location and for a very limited number of measured parameters. One approach to complement measured sensor values is to use observations by eyewitnesses ("humans as sensors"), which are increasingly spread using social media platforms like Facebook, Twitter, or YouTube and Flickr. Each user of these networks represents a mobile, virtual sensor ("Social sensor").
"Social Sensors" offer advantages over conventional sensors, such as high mobility, high versatility of the parameters that can be recorded, and a very rapid spread of acquired data. In addition, the amount of data provided via social media platforms is extensive. The disadvantage is that these data are often characterized subjectively by the observer, and are of varying quality and quantity. To make acquired data from social media platforms available for use in disaster management, methods and procedures are developed to filter out the amount of information from the appropriate data.
The project aim is to gain data from social media platforms that facilitate, in conjunction with data from conventional sensors, rapid damage assessments, e.g., providing input parameters for damage modeling, and thus permit qualified information for the disaster management. This requires appropriate methods and prototypes which will be developed in cooperation with the CEDIM projects "Crowd sourcing in disaster management", "Rapid Flood Event Analysis" and "Forensic Disaster Loss Analysis".
Metrics are derived and evaluated to determine the relevance of data from social media platforms with respect to specific disaster events. This determines which data is appropriate for further analysis and extraction of measuring parameters. Further, with the help of machine learning classification, methods are developed to rank data according to their content (e.g., information, opinion or emotion) in order to allow quality assessments and evaluations of specific issues and further analysis. In addition, patterns are identified which allow to estimate when which information will be available and in what quality it has. Thus it can be estimated in case of an event, at which point in time reliable information can be expected.

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Social Sensors for rapid damage assessment in disaster management - combining social media and earth observations

Social Sensors for rapid damage assessment in disaster management - combining social media and earth observations
Ansprechpartner:

Prof. Dr. Doris Dransch
Joachim Fohringer  

Kurzbeschreibung des Projekts und seiner Ziele

Moderne Sensoren bzw. Sensornetze liefern bei der Beobachtung von Naturereignissen qualitativ gute Messwerte, jedoch nur punktuell an ihren jeweiligen Standorten und für eine eng begrenzte Anzahl von Messparametern. Ein Ansatz um gemessene Sensorwerte zu ergänzen ist Beobachtungen durch Augenzeugen zu nutzen („humans as sensors“), welche in zunehmendem Maße durch Social Media-Plattformen wie Facebook, Twitter oder auch Youtube und Flickr verbreitet werden. Jeder Nutzer dieser Netzwerke stellt einen mobilen, virtuellen Sensor („Social Sensor“) dar.
„Social Sensors“ bieten gegenüber herkömmlichen Sensoren Vorteile, wie z.B. hohe Mobilität, hohe Vielseitigkeit der erfassten Parameter, die erfasst werden können, sowie eine sehr schnelle Verbreitung der erfassten Daten. Zudem ist die Menge der über Social-Media-Plattformen bereitgestellten Daten sehr umfangreich. Der Nachteil ist, dass diese Daten oft subjektiv durch den Beobachter geprägt und von unterschiedlicher Qualität und Quantität sind. Um die Daten aus Social-Media-Plattformen für die Anwendung im Desastermanagement nutzbar zu machen, sind Methoden und Verfahren zu entwickeln, die aus der Menge an Information die geeignete Daten herausfiltern.
Ziel des Projektes ist, aus Social-Media-Plattformen Daten zu gewinnen, die zusammen mit Daten aus herkömmlichen Sensoren eine schnelle Schadensabschätzung, z.B. als Eingabeparameter für Schadenmodelle, und somit qualifizierte Informationen für das Desastermanagement ermöglichen. Hierzu werden entsprechende Methoden und Prototypen in Kooperation mit den CEDIM-Projekten „Crowd Sourcing im Desastermanagement“, „Schnelle Hochwasserereignisanalyse“ und „Forensic Disaster Loss Analysis“ entwickelt.
Es werden Metriken zur Bestimmung der Relevanz von Daten aus Social-Media-Plattformen bezüglich konkreter Katastrophenereignisse hergeleitet und evaluiert. Damit wird bestimmt, welche Daten für eine weitere Auswertung und Extraktion von Messparametern geeignet sind. Des weiteren werden mit Hilfe von maschinellem Lernen Klassifikationsmethoden entwickelt, die Daten nach ihrem Inhalt (z.B. Information, Meinung oder Emotion) einordnen, um so Qualitätsabschätzungen und Auswertungen für konkrete Fragestellungen und weitere Analysen zu ermöglichen. Außerdem werden Muster identifiziert, die eine Abschätzung erlauben, ab wann welche Informationen in welcher Qualität verfügbar sind. Damit kann im Ereignisfall abgeschätzt werden, ab welchem Zeitpunkt mit möglichst verlässlichen Informationen zu rechnen ist.

 

Analysen: