Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Natural Risks in a Changing Climate

Flood hazard in a changing climate

Satellitenbils Oberbayern

In 2008, the CEDIM started the new joint research project “flood hazard in a changing climate” after the FZK joined CEDIM. With the FZK CEDIM got access to high competences for the areas of regional climate modeling. In the new project the competences in regional climate modeling and hydrological modeling for Eastern Germany, the low mountain range area, and the Alpine region of the participating institutes IMK-TRO (FZK/Karlsruhe University), IWG (Karlsruhe University), IMK-IFU (FZK), and the hydrology section of GFZ are combined.

» Flood hazard in a changing climate

Changes of flood risk within the catchment of river Elbe

Picture Flood

For decades, flood damages have been increasing. Nonetheless, it is still unclear which factor has the highest influence on this trend. The project “Changes of flood risk within the catchment of river Elbe” assesses changes of the vulnerability and the risk of flood damages to residential buildings between 1990 and 2020. Methodical approaches and results of the previous CEDIM project “Flood hazard in a changing climate” will be used.

» Changes of flood risk within the catchment of river Elbe

HARIS-CC – Hail Risk and Climate Change

HARIS CC

Within the project HARIS-CC (Hail Risk and Climate Change) changes of the hail hazard and hail risk are quantified from an ensemble of high-resolution regional climate models. The examination uses comprehensive hail statistics derived from various data sets (e.g., damage data, radar data, lightning data) for the federal state of Baden-Württemberg.

»Hail risk and climate change

Natural Disasters and Traffic

Infrastrukturen

The reliable functioning of infrastructures has become a crucial concern in today's society. Disruptions in infrastructure systems like energy, water, sewage, communication and transportation networks usually entail broad regional, national and global consequences. This project's focus is on transportation networks. Network theory, transport modelling and economic theories serve to obtain a better understanding of disruptions caused by natural hazards and their effects on the economy and network activities.

» Natural disasters and traffic

Power blackout management

Although German power grids meet high security standarts, electricity supply systems can be disrupted by technical failure, human failure, sabotage or natural disaster. During the last years several power blackouts occurred, e.g., the power blackouts in Switzerland and Italy 2008 and the power disruption in the central and southern part of Europe in 2006, causing large-scale and long-term supply disruptions.

The main objective of the project is the development of a handbook, which can be used for decision support within operative and strategic crisis management in the event of large-scae power blackouts.

» Power blackout management

Indirect losses

The project-spanning working group "Analysis of the Indirect Disaster Vulnrability" (VAG) was founded in May 2008. It focus is the understanding of indirect losses of disasters and their complex underlying processes at different spatial levels in the context of climate change.

» Indirect losses

Humans as sensors

Menuebild Menschen als Sensoren

For disaster management and rapid loss estimation, it is important to obtain an overview of loss and liked disturbances as comprehensive as possible. The necessary information is provided by various sources (e.g., observations of task forces, different sensors, aerial and satellite images) and needs to be consolidated and jointly evaluated in order to be used for disaster management decisions nd post-event analysis.

In the past, observations of eye witnesses and the local population were rarely integrated in disaster management and rapid loss estimation. However, this information can contribute significantly to the assessment of the post-event situation, particularly for events of larger geographical extent or those with parameters that are hard to measure.

» Humans as sensors

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Naturrisiken im Klimawandel

Hochwassergefahr durch Klimawandel

Satellitenbils Oberbayern

Das CEDIM hat im Jahr 2008 das neue Verbundvorhaben „Hochwassergefahr durch Klimawandel“ als Kooperationsprojekt mit Beteiligung aller das CEDIM tragenden Einrichtungen aufgenommen. Durch den Beitritt des FZK zu CEDIM können auch die Kompetenzen der Forschungseinrichtung IMK-IFU in Garmisch-Partenkirchen eingebunden werden. CEDIM hat somit die Möglichkeit, hohe regionalspezifische Kompetenz in den Bereichen regionale Klimamodellierung und hydrologische Modellierung für Ostdeutschland, den Mittelgebirgsraum und den alpinen Raum gemeinsam zu nutzen.

» Hochwassergefahr durch Klimawandel

Änderung des Hochwasserrisikos im Elbeeinzugsgebiet

Schäden durch Hochwässer nehmen seit Jahrzehnten ständig zu. Unklar ist jedoch, welche Faktoren den größten Einfluss auf diese Entwicklung haben. Das Projekt „Hochwasserrisikoveränderung im Elbeeinzugsgebiet“ untersucht die Veränderungen der Gefährdung und des Risikos von Hochwasserschäden an Wohngebäuden im Zeitraum von 1990 bis 2020. Es basiert auf methodische Ansätze und Ergebnisse, die im Rahmen des CEDIM-Projekts „Hochwassergefahr durch Klimawandel“ für das Einzugsgebiet der Vereinigten Mulde und Sachsen entwickelt wurden.

Hochwasserrisikoveränderung im Elbeeinzugsgebiet

HARIS-CC – Hail Risk and Climate Change

HARIS CC

Im Projekt HARIS (HAil RISk and Climate Change) werden Änderungen der Hagelgefährdung und des Hagelrisikos in Deutschland aus einem Ensemble hoch-aufgelöster regionaler Klimaprojektionen quantifiziert. Grundlage ist dabei eine umfassende Hagelstatistik der vergangenen Jahre für Baden-Württembergs, die aus verschiedenen Datensätzen erarbeitet wird.

» Hagelrisiko im Klimawandel

Naturkatastrophen und Verkehrsinfrastruktur

Infrastrukturen

Eine zuverlässig funktionierende Infrastruktur ist für die heutige Gesellschaft von unerlässlicher Wichtigkeit. Zusammenbrüche des Energienetzes, der Wasserversorgung oder -entsorgung, der Kommunikationsnetze oder der Verkehrsnetze ziehen meist wirtschaftliche Schäden in hohem Ausmaß nach sich. In diesem Projekt stehen Verkehrsnetze im Vordergrund, die mit Hilfe von Netzwerktheorie, Verkehrsmodellierung und volkswirtschaftliche Theorien im Hinblick auf Netzwerkstörungen bedingt durch Naturereignisse untersucht werden.

» Naturkatastrophen und Verkehr

Krisenmanagement bei großflächiger Stromunterbrechung

Ziel des Forschungsprojektes ist es, ein Handbuch zur Entscheidungsunterstützung für das operative und strategische Krisenmanagement bei Stromausfällen für das Land Baden-Württemberg zu erstellen, das sowohl bei Energieversorgungsunternehmen und Katastrophenschutzbehörden als auch bei den vom Stromausfall betroffenen Unternehmen und Einrichtungen zum Einsatz kommen soll. Das Handbuch wird neben Hintergrundinformationen, detaillierte Auswirkungsanalysen und Checklisten für vier untersuchten Schwerpunktsektore (Gesundheitswesen, Industrie, Ver- und Entsorgung, Kommunikation) enthalten.

»Projektbeschreibung

Indikatorenansatz für indirekte Schäden

Die projektübergreifende Arbeitsgruppe „Vulnerabilität“ (VAG) wurde im Mai 2008 gegründet. Sie bildet inhaltlich und zum Teil personell die Fortsetzung der Arbeitsgruppe „Asset Estimation“ (AEG) aus dem Projekt Risikokarte Deutschland. Die VAG greift das dort ursprünglich formulierte Ziel der Erfassung indirekter Schäden von Katastrophen auf und erweitert u. a. das dort zuletzt intensiv bearbeitete Feld der Schäden an kommerziell genutzten Einrichtungen (Industriewerte) um deren indirekte Effekte.

» Projektbeschreibung

Menschen als Sensoren

Menuebild Menschen als Sensoren

Das Ziel dieser Arbeit ist, Informationen der betroffenen Bevölkerung für das Risikomanagement nutzbar zu machen. Bisher werden Beobachtungen von Augenzeugen selten systematisch in das Katastrophenmanagement und die schnelle Schadensabschätzung einbezogen. Gerade bei Ereignissen mit größerer geographischer Ausdehnung können solche Informationen aber einen wertvollen Beitrag zur Einschätzung der Lage leisten. Am Beispiel der schnellen Schadensabschätzung nach Hochwasser-Ereignissen sollen in diesem Projekt Methoden zur Bewertung der Qualität solcher Daten entwickelt werden.

» Projektbeschreibung